Sale!
Brigid Kemmerer (Author)

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Paperback
(2 customer reviews)

Buy Its Sequel to Get an Exclusive LAPEL PIN

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

BACK IN STOCK

399.00 299.25

Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

Description

A Curse So Dark and Lonely was the bestseller in two months on ChapterOne Books. In April 2019 and November 2019

New York Times bestseller!

Has everything you’d want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale.” – Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things

“Absolutely spellbinding.” – Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Decription


Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

“Has everything you’d want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale: a finely-drawn fantasy world, a heroine rarely seen in fiction, and a tortured hero with a secret. I have only one complaint: I wish the sequel were already available!” –  Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A SPARK OF LIGHT and SMALL GREAT THINGS

Praises For A Curse So Dark and Lonely

“Absolutely spellbinding. A Curse So Dark and Lonely expands on all the beloved themes of ‘Beauty and the Beast’ to create an intensely original retelling: one full of fierce new characters, wicked magic, and wondrous amounts of heart. Brigid Kemmerer doesn’t just tell a story, she builds an entire world that you will never want to leave.” –  Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL and LEGENDARY

“I couldn’t get this creative, suspenseful take on ‘Beauty and the Beast’ out of my head.” –  Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of EVERLESS

“Slow-burning, big-hearted, magical fun! I loved every minute.” –  New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins

“Heartwarming, thoughtful, and romantic. Brigid Kemmerer took me on a magical journey with this dark fairy tale about growing up, falling in love, and making impossible choices. I can’t wait to see where these characters go next.” –  Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling coauthor of MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE

“Beautifully dark, filled with wild adventure and a modern-day heroine every reader will find a bit of themselves in.” –  Alexandra Christo, author of TO KILL A KINGDOM

“Harper is the undisputed hero . . . Avoiding disability inspiration tropes, she is a fallible, well-rounded character. She fights for the vulnerable and resists being labelled as such herself despite how others perceive her. A fast-paced, richly detailed feminist epic.” –  Kirkus Reviews starred review

“This enthralling modern fable champions altruism while illustrating intimacy’s relationship with honesty, respect, trust, and consent.” –  Publishers Weekly starred review

“Fans of Cassandra Clare, Marissa Meyer, or Alex Flinn, as well as any reader looking to sink into a top-notch story with great characters, will want to read this book.” –  VOYA starred review

“A complex, creative, and compelling reimagining of Beauty and the Beast.” –  School Library Connection, highly recommended

More Reviews For A Curse So Dark and Lonely

 

“A fresh twist on an old story. . . . Fans of Sarah J. Maas will be eager for this one.” –  Booklist

“Kemmerer knows how to blend a compelling story with a swoony romance, and the love triangle that inevitably develops . . . is organic and unforced because of strong characterization.” –  BCCB

“A unique world filled with fantasy and menace . . . will leave readers anxious to see what happens next.” –  School Library Journal

“Kemmerer merges modern sensibilities with an epic love story in this Beauty and the Beast retelling.” –  Shelf Awareness

“Readers looking for a different sort of coming-of-age story or teen protagonists grappling with complex situations will fall in love with this romance-tinged novel.” –  Starred review, Booklist on MORE THAN WE CAN TELL

“A must-have for any YA collection. Give to teens who enjoyed A Boy Called It by Dave Pelzer or The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.” –  Starred review, School Library Journal on MORE THAN WE CAN TELL

“This book is going to fly off the shelves to all teens, but it will hold special interest for those looking for a tear-jerking romance and serious readers of realistic fiction.” –  VOYA on LETTERS TO THE LOST

“A great concept, delivered in a compulsively readable package . . . romance readers will stay up late to finish this very satisfying and heartfelt read.” –  Booklist on LETTERS TO THE LOST

“Explores the ideas of carving identity out of pain and the way perception colours expectations.” –  BCCB on LETTERS TO THE LOST

“Readers will find themselves rooting for the real Declan to win Juliet’s heart the same way his online persona did. Consider this tale of modern star-crossed love as a first purchase for YA collections.” –  School Library Journal on LETTERS TO THE LOST

Read More about the Author Here

Get The Sequel to this bestselling novel Here 

Additional information

Format Paperback
ISBN-10 1408884615
ISBN-13 978-1408884614
Release Date 29 Jan 2019
Writer

2 reviews for A Curse So Dark and Lonely

  1. crazyridzy (verified owner)

    One of my all time favorite fairytales is Beauty and the Beast. So, naturally, a retelling intrigued me.
    Harper’s life was filled with struggles, with her father gone, mother dying and brother underestimating her due to her cerebral palsy. Yet, she had managed to learn how to survive.
    Prince Rhen, cursed to relive the autumn off his 18th birthday till he makes someone fall in love with him, fought his demons on a daily basis.
    Grey, Prince’s Rhen’s guard commander, was his loyal supporter and trapped in the warped reality of the kingdom of Emberfall.
    The fate of them all rested on the outcome of one season.

    Harper’s love for her family is palpable throughout the book. Her drive to prove herself, to not let her birth defect affect her strength and her compassion has you cheering for her. Her monologue in her head, especially about Rhen, is hilarious.

    Rhen wins your heart in this story. Grace, courage, love, regret, each characteristic and emotion of his is interwoven and yet distinct. His helplessness pulls at your emotions.

    Grey’s unwaveringnwavering devotion is commendable. Lillith’s cruelty ignites hatred in your core.
    There are several monumental moments in the book -when opinions change, faith is established, truth revealed or loyalty tested and they are all delicately and beautifully portrayed.
    Some of my favorite lines from the book:
    ‘I think you get cards, and you play them but then you get more cards. I don’t think it’s all predestined from the beginning. All along the way, you could have made a different choice and this all could have ended up differently. Failure isn’t absolute.’
    ‘Hope blooms in my chest anyway,a tiny bud giving way to the first light of spring, petals dating to open to reveal the colors inside’.
    ‘I am always surprised that when the world seems darkest, there exists the greatest opportunity for light’.

    This story keeps you hooked and mesmerized from the first page to the last. It’s beautifully written, magically described and emotionally captivating. The sequel couldn’t come sooner.

  2. Ridhima Pandey (verified owner)

    One of my all time favorite fairytales is Beauty and the Beast. So, naturally, a retelling intrigued me.
    Harper’s life was filled with struggles, with her father gone, mother dying and brother underestimating her due to her cerebral palsy. Yet, she had managed to learn how to survive.
    Prince Rhen, cursed to relive the autumn off his 18th birthday till he makes someone fall in love with him, fought his demons on a daily basis.
    Grey, Prince’s Rhen’s guard commander, was his loyal supporter and trapped in the warped reality of the kingdom of Emberfall.
    The fate of them all rested on the outcome of one season.
    ‘If I put a crystal goblet in this one’s hand, she’d likely smash it and use the shards to cut me’. This is a line that perfectly describes Harper’s distrusting, self preservative nature. Harper’s love for her family is palpable throughout the book. Her drive to prove herself, to not let her birth defect affect her strength and her compassion has you cheering for her. Her monologue in her head, especially about Rhen, is hilarious.

    ‘As before, he’s beautiful and terrible’. Rhen wins your heart in this story. Grace, courage, love, regret, each characteristic and emotion of his is interwoven and yet distinct. His helplessness pulls at your emotions. His confusion in choosing between selfishness and righteousness is grappling.

    Grey’s unwavering devotion is commendable. ‘Do you think he’s worth the sacrifice?’ ‘Time will tell’. Grey’s character is multilayered and leaves you wanting for more.

    Lillith’s cruelty ignites hatred in your core. ‘You, Rhen. You alone will destroy them all’. Cursing the Prince isn’t enough for Lillith and she returns time and again to torture him, to shred his confidence and render him defenseless.

    There are several monumental moments in the book -when opinions change, faith is established, truth revealed or loyalty tested and they are all delicately and beautifully portrayed.
    Some of my favorite lines from the book:
    ‘I think you get cards, and you play them but then you get more cards. I don’t think it’s all predestined from the beginning. All along the way, you could have made a different choice and this all could have ended up differently. Failure isn’t absolute.’
    ‘Hope blooms in my chest anyway,a tiny bud giving way to the first light of spring, petals dating to open to reveal the colors inside’.
    ‘I am always surprised that when the world seems darkest, there exists the greatest opportunity for light’.

    This story keeps you hooked and mesmerized from the first page to the last. It’s beautifully written, magically described and emotionally captivating. The sequel couldn’t come sooner.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.