Sale!
Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Author)

Gods of Jade and Shadow: A wildly imaginative historical fantasy

Paperback

699.00 559.20

Only 2 left in stock

Purchase this product now and earn 6 Points!

Description

‘This is historical fantasy at its best’ S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it’s passing Casiopea Tun by. She’s too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather’s house to do anything more than dream of a life far from her dusty, small town in southern Mexico. A life she could call her own.

This dream is impossible, distant as the stars – until the day Casiopea opens a curious chest in her grandfather’s room and accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death. He offers her a deal: if Casiopea helps him recover his throne from his treacherous brother, he will grant her whatever she desires. Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost, for ever.

In the company of the strangely alluring god and armed only with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey, from the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld.

Additional information

Format Paperback
ISBN-13 9781529402643
Publisher Orion Hachette
Writer

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.